AAMA | Distinguished Service Award |


Recognizes and honors AAMA members who have provided outstanding service and significant support to the Academy and/or its Specialty Groups.  More than one person may be recognized.  Selection made by AAMA Past Chairmen’s Council.


  • The Candidate must be an AAMA member in good standing
  • There must be evidence of either:
    • Unique and extraordinary efforts that impacted AAMA and/or a Specialty Group in meeting their annual goals
    • Assumption of a leadership role in creating new directions, or identifying new opportunities for future development
  • A member can win the award more than one time
  • There is no requirement for number of years between award receipt; eligibility is solely dependent on meeting the award criteria for service and leadership in that year
  • Each time a member is honored, it must recognize a different/unique service or activity
  • AAMA Chairman’s Award recipients are not eligible to win this award in the same year

Nomination Form

Award and Recognition

The recipient receives an inscribed plaque and presentation of the Award at the Academy’s annual conference.

Past Recipients


Tina R. Brinton, BSN

Connie Bura

Thomas L. Meskan, FACCA


P Anthony Long, CAAMA, FACCA Barbara J Nathan, RN, FAAMA

Jeannie M O’Leary, RN, AOCN, FAAMA

2007 Nancy L Anderson. CPA, CAE Dean B Borsos, CFAAMA Clinton W Schreckhise, CFAAMA

Joseph M Spallina, FAAMA, FACHE

2006 Marilyn M Henry, FAAMA, FACCA
Dale A Golgart, FAAMA
2005 Penny S Schmiege
Scott F Tanner
2004 Sabina C Garrett
Kevin J McGovern
2003 James O Wooten
Darlene J Johnson
2002 Grant D Kotovsky R. Kyle Kramer

Joseph M Spallina

2001 Thomas M Driskill Richard A Harley

Thomas D Lane

2000 Connie J Allen Amir Adolphe Edward Pietro D Marghella

Gary P Riedmann

1999 Thomas E Battles Janet A Davis Mark L Everett Robert E Hayhurst

Michael K Petty

1998 Arthur W Casper Janet L Jones, RN, BSN Eugene A Migliaccio, DrPH Kathy A Mikos

Margaret J Nation

1997 Matthew W Blade, Jr Roxanne L Clark Margaret J Nation Roy Redman Kathleen M Strong Lois Schurig, RN, BSN

Jeanne M Walter, RN

1996 R Bernard Chapman, Jr, MS Patrick S DeMoon Charles C Freeman Patrick G O’Donovan Arthur T Porter, MD

James R Youngblood

1995 Janice B Babcock Robert W Kirby

W Boyd Kleefisch

1994 R Bernard Chapman, Jr Thomas E Battles Michael G Flaherty

Larry W VanNostrand

1993 Randall R Kelley, MS
Arthur X Deegan, PhD
1992 Larry W Collins
William L Griffin, PhD
1991 Henry M Chinnery Carole A Crevier

Judith K Pritt

1990 Mary C Labyak
William J Lambert, Jr
1989 incent C Bradley, Jr Wilton B Duncan

John D Harbaugh

1988 Phillip Breunle, DrPH Thaddeus F Levandowski Robert D Lunt

Ritch Steven, JD

1986 Susanne D Justice-Moran Elmer L Kuber

Susan C Schulmerick, RN

1985 Carolyn Lee Joseph A Howarth Edward J Maas Evelyn C Messer, RN Sonja Meyerholz, RN, MSN

Mavourneen M Tornsello, RN

1984 Benjamin Rodin
1983 John L Ryan
1982 Anthony Alibrio