AAMA : Student Research Paper of the Year Award


Student Research Paper of the Year Award

Submission Deadline is November 2, 2014

The annual AAMA Student Research Paper of the Year Award Program will present three awards to undergraduate, graduate, and doctorate level healthcare administration students who display excellence and originality in healthcare administration research and writing. Any term paper, or other research paper, that was completed for coursework is eligible.

Students enrolled full or part-time in a health services administration/management program are eligible and need not be members of AAMA. For the 2014 award, papers must have been completed AFTER January 1, 2013, and must be submitted between June 2 and November 2, 2014.

Submission Criteria

  1. All papers must be pertain to topics or current issues in healthcare administration.

    Some suggested topics or issues include but are not limited to those below.  If in doubt about a possible submission, please contact the AAMA Editorial Board chair.

    • Impact of Affordable Care Act
    • Implementation of the Affordable Care Act at the health system level or lower
    • Medical/Healthcare Ethics
    • Repeal of the Medicare SGR (Sustainable Grow Rate)
    • The use of social media in healthcare
    • Quality improvement, process improvement
    • Healthcare accreditation
    • Medical home
    • Effectiveness of Accountable Care Organization
  2. A paper can relate to an operational issue or problem in a healthcare facility/health system that was evaluated by the students with a solution being offered.
  3. Papers will be submitted in one of three categories with undergraduate and graduate submissions being either a group or single author submission.
    • Undergraduate 
    • Graduate – Masters level
    • Doctoral
  4. All papers must be original works that have not been previously published.
  5. All papers must conform with one of the acceptable style manuals and the submitter must state in their submission which style manual they followed.  (Turabian, MLA, APA, AMA, CSE or ACS)
  6. All papers must be accompanied by a Verification Form and submitted electronically to the AAMA website below.
  7. All papers must have an abstract and a short bio (350 words or less) on each student author submitted on the online application. All abstracts will be published subject to peer review.

Specific details

  1. The AAMA Executive Online Editorial Board will serve as the awards committee. The Editorial Board’s decision is final.
  2. One award will be selected for each of the three student categories. Results wil be announced on November 26.
  3. Three additional deserving papers will be selected for short-talk presentations at the AAMA 2015 Summit. Presenters will be awarded with free AAMA Summit registration. (Travel and hotel not included.)
  4. Papers submitted for this award, including the winning paper, may be published in AAMA Executive Online at any time during the year, in whole or in part, in accordance with the standards established by the Editorial Board. Full publication of any paper, including the winning paper, is not required. Publication approval is required.

Student Paper Award Submission Application

You must be logged in to submit an application. Not a member? Create a Guest Account. 

Click Here  to Access the Application 
(Please upload the Verification Form along with your paper.) 

Awards and Recognition

Award winners will receive:

  • Free membership until December 31, 2015
  • Free AAMA Summit registration for the year in which the award is won (travel and hotel not included)
  • An inscribed award item
  • Recognition at the AAMA 2015 Summit, in the program book and in-person, if attending
  • Recognition in AAMA Executive Online
  • Recognition on the web site, on the page with the award information
  • Publication, in whole or in part, of the winning paper in AAMA Executive Online
  • If published, the paper will also appear in the AAMA Executive Online Compendium, and be cited as an award winner

Award Winners

2013 Single Author WinnerTiana LukasThe Pennsylvania State University

“Examing the Effects of a Usual Source of Care on Disparities Among Employed U.S. Adults Who Miss Work Due to Illness”

2013 Multiple Author WinnersKathleen Baust, Joshua Hester, and Tiana LukasThe Pennsylvania State University

“Optimizing Hospital Outcomes: Examining the Dual Effects of Safety Culture on Patient and Employee Safety Events”